French Apple Tart

I love using in-season produce as often as I can. After all, it’s when it is most abundant and delicious! Currently I’m trying to make as many pumpkin dishes as I can to take advantage of this super delicious squash that will soon be gone as quickly as Cinderella’s carriage turned back into a… well, you know. Yea I went there. 🙂

In all this pumpkin frenzy, however, I had almost forgotten that apples are in-season as well. I felt so guilty I had neglected this ultra-American fruit that I immediately racked my brain for the perfect recipe to let them shine in.

Now I’ll admit, I love apples but they’re by no means a favorite of mine in the dessert category, however, there is one recipe that makes me seriously re-consider my stance every time I make it: Ina Garten’s French Apple Tart. This recipe is pretty simple – In fact, the only ingredient I had to purchase to prepare for this was the apples themselves; everything else I had in my cupboard or fridge. It’s also hands-down absolutely delicious and beautiful. The crust is flaky and buttery, while the apples are tender and sweet. Now I made these this tart on a lazy Saturday night with Jersey Shore on in the background (TMI? lol) and ate it fresh out of the oven in my PJ’s, but this tart makes for such a gorgeous presentation, it would be perfect for a party or get together as well.

French Apple Tart

Adapted from Ina Garten’s ‘Barefoot Contessa’

For the pastry:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 12 tablespoons (11/2 sticks) cold unsalted butter, diced
  • 1/2 cup ice water

For the apples:

  • 3-4 Granny Smith apples
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) cold unsalted butter, small diced
  • 1/2 cup apricot or orange jelly
  • 2 tablespoons water

Directions

For the pastry, place the flour, salt, and sugar in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the steel blade. Pulse for a few seconds to combine. Add the butter and pulse until the butter is in small bits the size of peas. With the motor running, pour the ice water down the feed tube and pulse just until the dough starts to come together. Dump onto a floured board and knead quickly into a ball. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

*I don’t have a food processor, so I simply used my hands to combine the dry ingredients with the butter – I got the same pea-sized results 🙂

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Line a shee pan with parchment paper.

Roll the dough slightly larger than 10 by 14-inches. Trim the edges to make a clean rectangle. Place the dough on the prepared sheet pan and refrigerate while you prepare the apples.

Cut the apples to make 1/4-inch thick slices. Place overlapping slices of apples diagonally down the middle of the tart and continue making diagonal rows on both sides of the first row until the pastry is covered with apples slices.

Sprinkle the full 1/2 cup sugar mixed with the cinnamon on top of the apples.

 

Then dot evenly with the butter and pop into the oven!

Bake for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until the pastry is browned and the edges of the apples start to brown. Rotate the pan once during cooking.  When the tart’s done, heat the apricot jelly together with the water and brush the apples and the pastry completely with the mixture. Loosen the tart with a spatula so it doesn’t stick to the paper. Allow to cool and serve warm or at room temperature. Bon appetit!  – M-

 

 

2 thoughts on “French Apple Tart

Leave a Reply

