Pumpkin Spice Latte’s

I was jonesin’ for something warm and comforting on Sunday, but was too cozy (aka: lazy) to leave the couch… So instead of dropping $5 on a fancy seasonal coffee drink from a cafe, I whipped up my own Pumpkin Spice Latte’s! I guess I shouldn’t say ‘whipped up’, as that implies it was quick – and this recipe took 2 hours in the slow cooker! I wasn’t doing anything else so it was fun to experiment a little with my slow cooker, but it’s not something I could make every day. However it was perfect for an especially chilly Sunday with my NYTimes in-hand, and my special someone by my side. 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Latte’s (Serves 2)

Adapted from http://crockpot365.blogspot.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups milk (I used unsweetened soy)
  • 2 tbsp pumpkin puree (canned works fine)
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 cup brewed espresso or 3/4 cup strong brewed coffee
  • Garnish with spiced whipped cream  *recipe below

Preparation:

Add the coffee/espresso and milk to the crockpot. Whisk in the pumpkin, spices, sugar, and vanilla. Cover and cook on high for 2 hours if everything is cold. Whisk again. Ladle into mugs and garnish with whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

*Spiced Whipped Cream:

  • 1 cup cold heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Whip cold cream on high with a hand-held mixer until peaks form. Add the sugar, vanilla, and spice and beat until stiff peaks form.

This beverage was pretty delicious. It smelled and tasted more like a steaming mug of ‘Cinnamon Toast Crunch’ cereal than a Pumpkin Spice Latte, but I was not complaining! Make it yourself when you have some time on a lazy weekend – you won’t be disappointed 😉

– M –

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Latte’s

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spiced Latte

  2. You’re right, 2 hours probably wasn’t totally necessary. The recipe could probably be cooked in a saucepan until everything is combined and heated through, however, I do think the long-simmer really deepened the flavors in an unexpected way! But yes, the aroma was intoxicating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

