My Favorite Brownies

I love chocolate desserts almost as much as I love free yoga classes (a lot). I’ve never been one of those people that tastes a dessert and says, ‘Oh my goodness, this is far too rich.’ Though I will admit to being one of those people that rolls their eyes at those people. I say, the denser, the richer, the more luxurious, the better.

Brownies are one of my favorite comfort foods, however, I could eat them every day, whether I need comfort or not. My favorite recipe to make, and the one that yields the most compliments is Ina Garten’s recipe for, ‘Outrageous Brownies‘. Sure you use a pound of butter, over a pound of chocolate, and half a carton of eggs, but my god they are delicious.

Outrageous Brownies

Adapted from Ina Garten’s ‘Barefoot Contessa’

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound unsalted butter
  • 1 pound, plus 12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
  • 6 oz. unsweetened chocolate
  • 6 extra large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons instant coffee granules
  • 2 tablespoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and butter a 12 x 18 x 1 inch baking sheet.

Melt together the butter, 1 pound of chocolate chips, and the unsweetened chocolate in a medium bowl over simmering water.

Allow chocolate mixture to cool slightly.

In a large bowl, stir together the eggs, coffee, vanilla, and sugar.

Stir the warm chocolate mixture into the egg mixture and allow to cool to room temp.

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to the cooled chocolate mixture. Toss the remaining 12 oz. of chocolate in a medium bowl with 1/4 cup of flour, then add them to the chocolate batter. Pour into the baking sheet.

Bake for 20 minutes, then rap the baking sheet against the oven shelf to force the air to escape from between the pan and brownie dough. (It’s amazing how many bubbles come out!)

Bake for an additional 15 minutes (or less) until a toothpick comes out clean. Do NOT overbake!

Allow to cool thoroughly.

Then pop into the fridge so the brownies are easier to cut into pieces. (As you can see, I couldn’t wait)

Then cut up into squares and enjoy with whoever you’d like. Beware, people will become obsessed with you and your brownies thereafter, so use with caution.

I made a batch to take to the office. People went wild.

Then I made them again for a ‘Jalapeno Throwdown’ and people went even crazier! I added some chili powder and cinnamon to the batter, and cooked up some candied jalapeno’s to put on top. I actually loved this variation.

No matter how or who you bake these for, they are a crowd-pleaser, and my favorite brownies.

Enjoy!

-M-

One thought on “My Favorite Brownies

  1. OMG……what an amazing idea for the Brownies. I watched Chocolate last night, and smiled when the Choclatier added a pinch of red pepper flakes to the cup of hot chocolate. Your friends must have really enhoyed them.
    Your pal in Victoria BC Canada.
    Ps. I hope you have dug your way out of the snow.

Leave a Reply

