Whole Wheat Molasses Bread

Now all of the credit from this post should be directly given to Joy the Baker, because that is where I found this lovely recipe and where I snagged the gorgeous pic from. It’s one of my favorite blogs because of the beautiful pictures, great recipes, and fun writing style from Joy herself.

I had friends visiting this past weekend and as per usual, we went gallavanting on a gastronomical journey through the City. From cream-filled donuts and rich petit fours, to cheddar chicken pot pie and goat cheese crepes. It was a deliciously fabulous time, but now it’s time to get serious again. I don’t feel well when I eat too few fruits and vegetables, and plus, I have a trip to Florida coming up in a couple months…

Even though I love being healthy, I also love baking. Like, a lot. I’ll get home from work and immediately start whisking something to pop in the oven. People ask me why I don’t chillax at the end of the day, but for me, that’s how I do it. So anyway, I was scouring the net the other day for healthy baking recipes and found a simple one on Joy’s site for Whole Wheat Molasses Bread. There’s only 6 ingredients, and all are fairly healthful. It also tastes amazing, which let’s face it, is the most important part.

Whole Wheat Molasses Bread


Makes one 8×4 or 9×5-inch loaf

(Recipe from the New York Times)

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 cups buttermilk or plain yogurt (I used European-style whole yogurt because there was only 1 ingredient and 12 grams of protein)
  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup molasses

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Grease and flour an 8×4 or 9×5-inch loaf pan.  Non-stick baking spray works well too.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, salt and baking soda.

In a small bowl whisk together buttermilk or yogurt and molasses.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and fold to combine.  The batter will be slightly thick, but not dry.  Spoon batter into prepared pan and place in the oven.  Bake loaf for 45 minutes to an hour.  Depending on how evenly your oven bakes, you might want to rotate the loaf in the middle of baking.  Be careful though.  Don’t manhandle it too hard or it might deflate.

When a skewer inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean, remove the loaf from the oven and allow to cool for 20 minutes in the loaf pan.  Run a butter knife along the sides of the pan and carefully invert onto a wire rack.

Loaf will keep, well wrapped at room temperature for up to 4 days.

Serve with cream cheese, jam, salted butter or nutella.

Note: I drizzled honey over the top and found that to be very good as well.

Leave a Reply

