Souffleed Strawberry Jam Omelets

I saw this recipe on Food & Wine’s website for ‘Soufleed Strawberry Jam Omelets‘ and immediately wanted to make it! The ingredients were so few, preparation so interesting, and the picture so pretty, that I got pretty excited pretty fast! When I find a recipe that I realize I already have all of the ingredients for, it’s like nothing can touch me. I’m happy as a clam, and can’t wait to get home and make it!

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1/3 cup superfine sugar, plus more for dusting
  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1/4 cup strawberry jam
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 425°. Position a rack in the upper third of the oven. Generously butter a large rimmed baking sheet and dust generously with superfine sugar. In a large mixing bowl, using a handheld electric mixer, beat the egg whites until soft peaks form. Beat in the superfine sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating well after each addition, until firm peaks form. In a bowl, whisk the egg yolks until pale yellow. Gently fold the egg yolks into the beaten whites.
  2. With the spatula, use half of the egg mixture to form four 5-by-3-inch ovals on the prepared baking sheet. With the back of a spoon, make a 2-inch-long indentation in the center of each oval and fill with 1 tablespoon of the jam. Cover with the remaining egg mixture to enclose the jam.
  3. Bake the soufflés for about 10 minutes, until puffed and golden brown but still slightly jiggly in the center. With a metal spatula, gently transfer the omelets to plates. Dust with confectioners’ sugar and serve right away.

Overall, the recipe was fun to make but only ok taste-wise. The consistency of the omelet was very light and airy like a souffle or meringue, however I guess because it was supposed to be an ‘omelet’ it wasn’t sweet like a dessert, making it sort of… odd tasting. Like, a sorta sweet sorta not egg puff. I also think I added a little too large of a jam dollop because that part was just overpoweringly sweet. I think if I make it again, I’ll use a more natural jam with less sugar.

Leave a Reply

