Tortuga: Caribbean Rum Cake

Ever since I saw that ‘Unwrapped‘ episode on Food Network featuring a rum cake as the ‘#1 souvenir and export item of the Cayman Islands’, I’ve been jonesing to try it.

I’m not ashamed to say that I purchased my rum cake, which turned out to be much tinier than expected at $4.99 a pop, on an impulse shopping trip at my local TJ Maxx.

As I unwrapped the packaging, I was worried that the cake (I chose  the pineapple flavor) might have lost some of it’s moisture sitting on the TJ Maxx shelves for who knows how long. However, the vacuum packed bag that it came in kept it moist, fluffy, and fresh and if I hadn’t known what kind of cake I was getting prior to, boy did I know after opening that bag…

I was suddenly smacked in the face with the scent of rum and upon sampling, I couldn’t taste much else either. Even so, the rum cake was tasty, albeit potent, and rich, very very rich. Not many desserts are too much for me, but I couldn’t eat this tiny cake (which wasn’t much bigger than my fist), in one sitting. This is definitely a cake of the novelty sort, not one that I would want for special occasions, or even ever again. I’m glad I tried it, but probably won’t again.

One thought on “Tortuga: Caribbean Rum Cake

Leave a Reply

