Easy and AMAZING Chocolate Custard

I’ve been on a diet, so naturally my chocolate cravings have been off the charts. Today is the last day I’m indulging these urges before getting GTL (Jersey Shore term) strict, so I allowed myself one last goodbye dessert, and boy was it a doozey.

Food & Wine’s No-bake Chocolate Custard recipe was easier than I could ever imagine and more delicious than I expected! I think it had a lot to do w/ the type of chocoalte that I used: Lindt Orange Intense. The dark chocolate was studded with chewy orange pieces and crispy almond slivers which gave the custard some texture and an added depth of flavor.

In addition to the aforementioned benefits of using good chocolate, the quality of the Lindt chocolate gave this custard a silky smoothness and creamy, yet delicate thickness. It was a delight to my tastebuds straight from the saucepan, and absolutely superb after a short sit in the fridge to cool it down.

No-Bake Chocolate Custard

Adapted from Food & Wine

  • 1/4 cup milk (I used almond)
  • 3 tablespoons sugar (I used raw sugar)
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped, plus shaved chocolate, for serving (I used Lindt)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon
  1. In a small saucepan, combine the milk and 2 tablespoons of the sugar and heat until steaming and the sugar is dissolved. Put the egg yolk in a small bowl and gradually whisk in the hot milk. Return the mixture to the saucepan and cook over moderate heat, whisking constantly, until slightly thickened, about 2 minutes.
  2. Off the heat, add the chopped chocolate and salt and whisk until smooth. Whisk in the butter. Pour the custard into 2 shallow bowls and refrigerate briefly, about 5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, beat the heavy cream with the cinnamon and the remaining 1 tablespoon of sugar until softly whipped. Dollop the cream on the custards, sprinkle the chocolate shavings on the cream and serve chilled.


Leave a Reply

