Ramen

The only ramen I ever knew growing up was the square, dried variety in orange packs that came 10 for $1 at the grocery store. If I didn’t think about the sodium content, that Ramen always made for a pretty satisfying and enjoyable meal.

My first experience with authentic ramen though happened at my favorite after-yoga sushi place in the East Village. (it’s 50% off sushi every day!) It was cold outside, and I had a hankering for something warm and comforting, so I decided to give their soup a whirl and ordered the house ramen.

I’d seen pictures of authentic ramen before, so I knew what to expect, however, I really had no idea what it would taste like. It was really surprisingly pretty good!

As you can see, it looks like a bunch of  foreign items (save for the halved egg) thrown into the bowl. And I’ll admit, some of the items in that bowl I was still unsure of, even after eating them. The broth itself was silky and very flavorful, that little round of pork was honestly one of the best pieces of pork I have ever tried. It was so tender, it was difficult even picking it up with the chopsticks – kept slipping into smooth, silky oblivion… The obscure brown stems floating on top, turned out to be little mushrooms and were quite good. I didn’t end up trying the crunchy piece of seaweed. I think I got nervous, though I don’t know why.

Now that I’ve tried it once, I want to try more! There are a ton of places in the City that specialize in ramen and other noodle soup dishes. I’m anxious to find out how the ingredients differ in various types of ramen. I’ll keep you posted in my ramen adventures. 🙂

– M –

Leave a Reply

