Oslo Coffee Roasters

The ubiquitous Oslo coffee cups I’ve seen nearly every morning on the subway since I’ve lived in Brooklyn are curious things. I couldn’t tell if they were a hipster trend-of-the-moment, or a Brooklyn secret I had yet to uncover.  I finally made my way into this Williamsburg landmark this morning to see for myself what all the fuss is about.

I ordered a soy latte and a zucchini, strawberry, chocolate muffin because, who can pass a muffin like that up?

I brought it back to my apartment to enjoy as my 1st breakfast (2nd breakfast and elevensies would soon follow) under the covers while watching 30 Rock. You see, I’m a strong believer in the Hobbit way of eating (for all you Lord of the Rings fans out there), which consists of many more than 3 meals a day…

Regarding my soy latte, I appreciated the care taken in its making – It was just the right temperature, and the crema was decorated with basic but not-to-be-overlooked latte art. I was a bit disappointed with the taste, however: The espresso was flavorful and strong, but the milk didn’t taste like soy (and my stomach soon confirmed my suspicion).

It’s always disappointing when this happens. (Sigh)

The muffin though, was nothing short of scrumptious! The chocolate was a good quality dark, the top was a bit crunchy, while the inside was moist with pink strawberry and green zucchini bits peppered throughout. A very good, albeit unusual, combo!

I’ll probably give Oslo another chance, if for nothing else, to try another delectable muffin flavor. I do hope they get my milk preference right the next time though.

One thought on “Oslo Coffee Roasters

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Oslo Coffee Roasters « In A Cooking State of Mind -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

