Roasted Garlic

Have you ever roasted garlic before? It’s one of the simplest and most rewarding things you can do in the kitchen. I promise!

I wanted to make a little snacky snack for myself today, since I came home sick from work, and remembered I had a couple heads of garlic that needed some love. I knew just what to do… I picked up some fresh Italian bread from a local bakery and was set to go!

Roasted garlic is truly foolproof. Well, I suppose you can over-bake it, which makes the flavor bitter and the garlic cloves hard, but for the most part, it’s pretty easy to do:

  1. Take a whole garlic clove and cut off the top to expose the cloves
  2. Place the head of garlic in a small piece of aluminum foil and drizzle with olive oil
  3. Wrap the foil up around the head of garlic and place on a baking sheet
  4. Roast the garlic in a 400° oven for 30-40 minutes until the cloves are soft and easily pierced with a fork. Allow to cool slightly before opening the foil packet

Once the garlic is roasted, you remove the cloves from the garlic head membrane (that was mighty scientific sounding) and do with it whatever you like! I enjoy my garlic in the simplest form – spread on crusty fresh bread, with a little butter, and a touch of salt.

I experimented with a few variations to see what else I liked…

From the left: Plain roasted garlic, butter and roasted garlic (actually I used Earth Balance :)), and roasted garlic with parmigiano. All were drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with a little sea salt.

Don’t they look just heavenly? I still preferred the butter and roasted garlic combo above all. It truly is divine. I would encourage any garlic lovers, and even those who are iffy about garlic, to try this simple recipe. You’ll be surprised at how sweet the garlic cloves are when roasted. If you have any other favorite combo’s, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

