No-Butter, No-Flour Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

I’ve made mention before of my never-ending quest to find healthier versions of my favorite treats, and yesterday I experimented with a new cookie recipe. They were chocolate chip cookies, however, with no butter or flour. Instead, the binding agent was peanut butter!

I used all-natural crunchy peanut butter (just roasted peanuts and salt), and a good quality dark chocolate, making this cookie a much less guilty treat. I can’t exactly call this cookie healthy though, as there was quite a bit of brown sugar involved, but the lack of butter and flour definitely made it lighter.

I loved the way the brown sugar  caramelized on the bottom of the cookie – it made the cookies sweet, sticky, and crunchy on the bottom and edges. In addition, the peanut bits from the peanut butter and sugar melded together nicely to sort of taste like cracker jack’s, yet the inside remained ooey gooey from the chocolate. I really loved these cookies! If I truly want to make things cookies ‘healthy’, next time I might try swapping out the egg for egg whites, and try Stevia instead of sugar.

A couple of things to note: Since there is no real rising agent, these cookies do spread quite a bit so make sure you space them a few inches apart. Also, you might want to try smooth peanut butter to see how that works. I’m not sure if the  nuts in the crunchy peanut butter play a role in holding the cookies together or not, but I did find large clumps of peanut butter in several of the cookies and the smooth variety might help that.

No-Butter No-Flour Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from eHow

Ingredients

  • 1 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chunky peanut butter

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a big mixing bowl, in the order listed. It’s important to add the peanut butter last as it serves as the glue or binding agent.

Dip a tablespoon in warm water and spoon desired amount on a greased cookie sheet. Give 2 to 3 inches of space between each cookie dough ball.

Bake at 350 degrees for 8-9 minutes or until golden brown. Before trying to remove cookies from the baking sheet, let them sit for 3 to 5 minutes. They will be very fragile at first.

As you can see, my first batch was sort of a disaster…

But taking a cue from what went wrong with the first, my next batch came out better. I used those second batch cookies to hide the uglies from the first round.

These cookies are best when they’re very, very thin. As I mentioned above, I used crunchy peanut butter (per the recipe I followed) and found that since there is no rising agent, anywhere I saw a risen lump, there was a big clump of peanut butter underneath. The peanut butter tastes better distributed throughout, so I think next time I’ll try smooth peanut butter.

-M-

3 thoughts on “No-Butter, No-Flour Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Yes, cocoa powder would work as well. Though your cookies will lose that ooey gooey goodness that the chips offer 🙂

Leave a Reply

