Panzanella Salad

I’m in the process of doing a little pre-Spring cleaning in my kitchen and am trying to eat up everything in my fridge and cupboards to make room for all the new stuff I want to buy. 🙂 I also happen to live by the Italian mantra ‘Waste not, want not’ and believe in using up everything I can before buying anew.

Now I really don’t have that many fresh ingredients on-hand currently, but I did have some great Italian bread that went stale quicker than I could use it and wanted to breathe new life into it – so I made this simple Italian recipe that utilizes stale bread as the main ingredient: Panzanella Salad.

Mine was super simple – using only tomatoes, bread, extra virgin olive oil, sea salt and oregano (wish I had basil). You can make this recipe as complex or simple as you like, depending on what you have on-hand. Here’s a recipe from Ina Garten that I like, and is a bit more in-depth than mine.

It just takes a few simple steps, and you could have a tasty and simple Panzanella salad too!

Slice your bread and cut into about 1 inch cubes

Then slice any vegetables you’re using in bite-size pieces.

Toss your bread and vegetables with olive oil, then sprinkle with sea salt, pepper, and any herbs you like. Allow to sit for a few minutes so the olive oil and bring the salad together, and that’s it! It’s hardly a recipe, but aren’t those the best kind? 😉 I’m a bread-lover anyway, so this is really a great little salad I love to make, and can be completely different every time based on what you have on-hand.

Leave a Reply

