Poached Eggs with Lemon Hollandaise

I have come to find that I really love poached eggs. They are quick and healthy to make, requiring none of the butter or oil usually needed for other egg breakfast preparations. I also love that you can manipulate the consistency of the yolk quite easily just by leaving it to boil for an extra minute or two. I like my eggs runny enough to spill out slightly, but firm enough to not make such a mess – about 5 minutes or so of poaching time.

One recent morning, I found myself craving eggs and ham for breakfast. There are so many different ways to combine those two into a breakfast, that I wasn’t sure exactly what to make! I decided on Eggs Benedict, for which poached eggs just happen to be one of the main ingredients. Lucky me 🙂 Knowing I had never made a hollandaise sauce before, also made this breakfast choice all that much more intriguing, as I do love making new things and expanding my culinary repertoire.

I quickly found a recipe online that I liked, which utilized an extra ingredient for the sauce. Honestly after using this recipe, which is unbelievably easy by the way, I don’t think I can ever try just plain ‘ole regular hollandaise. It really took it all to a zesty new level.

Poached Eggs with Lemon Hollandaise

Recipe adapted from Food Network

Sauce:

  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • Pinch cayenne pepper
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter (1/2 stick), melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Put the egg yolk, lemon juice, and cayenne in a blender. Pulse a couple times to combine.

With the blender running, gradually add the melted butter into the egg to make a smooth frothy sauce. If the sauce is really thick blend in a teaspoon of lukewarm water to loosen it up. Season with the salt and serve immediately or keep warm in a small heat-proof bowl set over hot (but not simmering) water until ready to serve.

To poach eggs:

Fill a saucepan with water and add a little vinegar or lemon juice and bring to a boil. Break an egg into a small bowl and then carefully pour into the boiling water. Repeat with as many eggs as you’d like, though don’t add too many so they’re touching. Poach until the whites are firm, but the yolks are still runny – or to your desired consistency. 3-4 minutes will give you runny yolks. With a slotted spoon, transfer the eggs to paper towels to dry and season with salt and pepper.

To assemble the Eggs Benedict:

Toast your preferred variation of bread (I’m partial to Ezekiel) and place on plate while still hot. Optional: Take a whole, peeled clove of garlic and rub all over bread for light garlic flavor. Then drizzle bread with olive oil and top with slice of ham or Canadian bacon. (Cooking ham in a dry saute pan until hot and golden brown will give it a smoky, toasty flavor) Place your poached egg carefully atop this mountain of garlicky, smoky ham goodness and finish with your lemon hollandaise, as little or as much as you like.

And that’s how breakfast is done right.

Leave a Reply

