Restaurant Review – Momofuku Noodle Bar

I’ve been trying to make more of an effort lately, to really carpe diem during the week.  Oftentimes I’m so tired by the time I get off work that all I want to do is make dinner and veg out at home. If I’m lucky, I’ll drag myself to the gym for a quick workout.

Recently, I impulsively decided to take advantage of the nice weather outside and take a long stroll through the City, to wherever fate brought me. Well it just so happens that fate brought me to a great little restaurant and a cupcake shop afterwards. Funny how fate works …

I ended up at Momofuku Noodle Bar, which I’ve been meaning to try for quite awhile. It’s one of the well-known restaurants in Chef David Chang’s empire. Every other time I’ve walked past this place it’s been packed to the gills. I’m talking fire hazard crowded with  people waiting outside too. Luckily, it wasn’t too bad when I walked in, especially the bar, which was where I (a table for one) would be sitting.

I wanted to keep it simple and just order one or two things, so I started with their 7-spice potato chips and a lemon-basil sojo (like an alcoholic slush). It was the perfect nosh to replete my energy and rev up my appetite for the main course.

For my main course, I ordered the item on the menu I had heard the most buzz about – The steamed pork buns.

Steamed bread with tender meat is a pretty common Asian food, but Momofuku manages to make it new, exciting and even trendy. The juicy, fall apart, slow-roasted pork belly is encased in a soft, pillowy steamed bun – which is the perfect blank slate to soak up all of the flavor inside. The pork belly is accompanied with sweet hoisin sauce, scallions, and crunchy pickled cucumbers – the perfect mix of sweet, salty and crunch – and if you can handle it, a dash of spicy siracha sauce does wonders. The only part I didn’t enjoy was the big hunk of fat on the pork belly (which I’m sure many would argue is the best part). The meat itself though, was as tender and moist as you can imagine.

Overall it was a very good experience, and I would definitely go back again with a group of friends. I’m anxious to try the fried chicken dinner, which you must reserve in advance and be prepared for a feast large enough for up to 8 people!

Leave a Reply

