Indian Spiced Nuts with Coconut

Indian Spiced Nuts 1

My family is about to embark on a summer road trip, which means I am preparing myself for lots of Cracker Barrel and Chick-fil-A pit stops. Ugh.

I need to be ready with lots of reasonable snacks so I’m not forced to choke down gross fast food fare. I’ve got tons of fruit, Pecan nut thins (because, duh), homemade granola bars, and spiced nuts. These nuts … omg. (That’s what she said?)

Indian Spiced Nuts 3

I love how flavorful this nut mix is, and the addition of shredded coconut adds an interesting element, but I actually think it needs a little less spice. As in, there was more dry spice than there was nuts to cover, and I even added extra cashews in the mix. I omitted the 2 tsp of salt this time because the peanuts and cashews I used were already salted. Plus, I don’t like super salty snacks on a road trip. They make me feel puffy and bad about myself and ain’t nobody got time for that.

Next time I make this I will probably cut down on the amount of spices, maybe even in half. I might also try sweetened coconut for an added dimension of flavor. Otherwise, this is a tasty little snack that you can feel good about!

Indian Spiced Nuts 5

Indian Spiced Nuts with Coconut

Recipe adapted from Food Network’s, Aarti Sequeira 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted roasted peanuts
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup roasted cashews
  • 4 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp kosher salt

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a big bowl mix together the peanuts, pecans, cashews, coconut, oil, coriander, cumin, garam masala and salt together and pour onto the baking sheet. Toast for 1 hour, rotating the sheet a couple of times for even baking. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.

 

 

One thought on “Indian Spiced Nuts with Coconut

  1. Pingback: Road Trip Granola Bars | Chocolate, Salt & Olive Oil

Leave a Reply

