Toasted Oat and Coconut Muesli

Muesliafter 3

It all started when I bought a massive tub of old-fashioned oats from Aldi’s yesterday.

Muesli

I wanted to make something with them so badly and I was feeling snacky, so I went for my go-to granola. That recipe typically takes at least 40 minutes. Well, within 15 minutes my granola was burnt to a crisp. My oven is a nightmare and my landlord will now get an earful about how her oven burnt my granola, among other deceased baked goods. May they rest in peace.

Muesli 6

(Crystallized Ginger. Mmmm)

I couldn’t eat my granola, but I wasn’t done with the oats. I wanted to DO somethinggggg with them. For whatever reason, I thought of muesli. I’ve never made muesli before. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten muesli before. In fact, I’m not even positive I have seen muesli before. But I was going to make it.

Muesli 8

(Coco-Cran-Almond-Ginger-Chia Muesli, to be exact.)

Muesli is like a less fancy granola. But seemingly boring things can surprise you sometimes.

Muesliafter 2

Muesli is super easy and surprisingly delicious! The preparation is easy peasy, but you do have to plan a little before you enjoy it. The oats have to soak up the milk for at least a couple of hours, or even overnight. It ends up super creamy, dreamy, soft and lovely. The cranberries get all plump and somehow the almonds maintain their crunch. Also, if you add frozen blueberries, everything turns a magical shade of lavender.

The whole thing is like cereal that’s gotten a little soggy in the milk too long, but you like it like that. You really, really do.

Muesli 5

Toasted Oats and Coconut Muesli

Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut, unsweetened
  • 1/2 cup dry-roasted almonds (unsalted), chopped
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (low or no sugar)
  • 2 tbsp crystallized ginger, chopped
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • Almond milk
  • Optional: frozen fruit, honey, pure maple syrup, etc.

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment and bake oats in an even layer for 5-7 minutes, or until toasted. Watch carefully so they don’t burn. Take out oats and dump in a large bowl. Pour coconut on same sheet with parchment paper and bake in an even layer for 3-5 minutes, or until toasted. Watch even more carefully! Take out and dump coconut into the same large bowl.

Toss the oats and coconut together, then add the dried cranberries, chia seeds, spices and salt. Mix until everything is combined.  … and, that’s it!

As I said, you need to plan a little before enjoying muesli, so once it’s all mixed together you can store in single-serve mason jars for an easy and portable breakfast. To prepare: the night before, or at the very least, about 2 hours before you want to eat it, take your cute jar of muesli and sprinkle some frozen blueberries on top. Pour almond milk over top just until the milk covers the blueberries. Place in the fridge and then, right before serving, drizzle with some maple syrup or honey. I found that the crystallized ginger provided plenty of sweetness, so I didn’t use anything extra.

Muesli 7

Muesli 2

Muesliafter

Leave a Reply

